I just changed the tagline to the title of my blog. It used to be ‘a personal blog’ in Farsi and now it is ‘an ironist’s personal blog’. I changed it because of two reasons which are at different levels turning points in my life as a casual blogger.

First, after visiting and staying at several countries, I arrived in Australia. The quality of experiences I am encountering here is of a different nature comparing to previous ones. So more and more I remind myself of the importance of my philosophical stance as an ironist. I will elaborate on my stance in later posts here, but to give an idea of what I mean by ‘ironist’, let’s read how Rorty defined (and taught me) the concept:

“I shall define an “ironist” as someone who fulfills three conditions: (I) She has radical and continuing doubts about the final vocabulary she currently uses, because she has been impressed by other vocabularies, vocabularies taken as final by people or books she has encountered; (2) she realizes that argument phrased in her present vocabulary can neither underwrite nor dissolve these doubts; (3) insofar as she philosophizes about her situation, she does not think that her vocabulary is closer to reality than others, that it is in touch with a power not herself” (in Contingency, Irony, and Solidarity; p. 73).

Second, we are at a shifting point in human history. I am not so pessimistic that I could think illiberal forces are about to conquer the world. However, I believe, in fact, only a minority of people who voted for Trump, Brexit, etc. are illiberal. Thus, I am determined to reflect on how I see the world. To me, it’s not meant to be read widely (while I’ll be humbled and happy every time somebody is reading my notes), but I’m more determined to keep my diaries of these days. Initially I wanted to create another blog, then I felt that I would miss all years of writing in Farsi on this address. Therefore, I’ll keep them and base my future writings upon all those ideas. They might be in another language/world, they built who I am now, though.

